Daystar Peterson, a hip-hop artist who uses the stage name Tory Lanez, was arrested on April 12 for allegedly driving a vehicle with an expired dealer tag, possession of less that 20 grams of marijuana in his glove box, and possession of a loaded firearm without a concealed weapons permit.
Peterson, 24, faces charges for operating a vehicle without a valid license or insurance, failing to register a vehicle, possession of marijuana, and carrying a concealed gun. He was taken to Broward County Jail and was released the following day on a $1,000 bond.
According to the arrest report, Peterson was stopped by police near Memorial Hospital in Miramar for driving a 2014 Rolls Royce with an expired dealer’s tag. He appears to have been alone in the vehicle. Police looked at his driver’s license and discovered that it wasn’t valid for driving anywhere in the U.S. It is not immediately clear why Peterson’s license wasn’t valid.
Police also reportedly smelled a strong odor of marijuana in the vehicle and that prompted them to perform a search. They claim to have found less than 20 grams of marijuana in the glove box and a loaded gun in the center console. Peterson did not have a concealed weapons permit and Miramar police couldn’t say if he has applied for one. It is also unclear whether Peterson possesses the qualifications for medical marijuana use in Florida.
News sources tried to check if Peterson had a permit with the Florida Department of Agriculture, which issues concealed weapons permits. The agency withholds from public records the names of applicants and permit holders, so such attempts to gain information were unsuccessful.
Peterson is a Canadian-born hip-hop artist famous for his hits Say It and Luv, which have been viewed 153 million and 103 million times respectively on YouTube. Both songs reached the top 25 of Billboard’s Hot 100 chart. He is scheduled to begin a 15-state tour next month with artists like Kodak Black, Future, Migos, and Zoey Dollaz.
Possession of marijuana is one of the most common drug charges in Florida. It can be prosecuted as a felony or misdemeanor depending on the quantity that’s found in the defendant’s possession. Possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana is a third-degree felony that is punishable by up to five years in prison and/or five years of probation, a $5,000 fine, and a 2-year driver’s license suspension.
Possession of less than 20 grams of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail, one year of probation, or a combination of both. Other penalties include mandatory court costs, a fine of up to $1,000, and 2-year driver’s license suspension if the defendant is convicted.
First-time offenders may get their case dismissed through a court diversion program. Defendants can also file a motion to suppress the charge if they were stopped illegally by police, searched illegally, or weren’t read their Miranda rights. Going to trial for a possession of marijuana is only recommended if there is a conflict of evidence, a lack of evidence, or credibility problems with the prosecution’s witnesses.